Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Do you believe in miracles?

This is my pesky debit card. It frequently goes missing.  I usually find it, but generally after a moment of sheer panic, I transition (not so gracefully) through the 4 stages of grief. First, I deny that it's lost.  Then, I'm anrgy at myself and whatever mutant stole my card. Then, I start to bargin. Please, please, please help me find my card. Then, I add a stage of tearing my house and car upsidedown. Finally, there's acceptance. No, I'd say resignation. I lost it AGAIN.

So, yesterday, I lost my debit card. The kids helped me look in the car and in the house.  I even went through the recycling and garbage, which was nasty.  Finally, I tell the kids we can't go do our stuff because my card was missing. I was white hot ticked off.

My sweet partner is not a freak-out kind of person. In fact, she is the polar opposite of freak out. I called her to find out whether she accidently took my card, of course she hadn't. She's too responsible to do that.  Let's just say I voiced my overall frustration to her....not AT her, TO her. Bless her heart, she told me to settle down, not let it ruin my night, chill out and scrounge up some change to go get a treat with the kids.  My response? No. I still had to look.

It must've been another hour before I finally hit my knees.  My prayer was lame. I truly did not deserve to have ANY inspiration leading me to my card.  And I got none. My bad.

Sometimes, I'm my worst enemy.  I go on record stating that I looked through all of the clothes in the dryer, the wet clothes in the washer and every single dirty towel that I put into the washer. Both kids looked in the washer and dryer.

Merile came home from work around midnight and carefully asked me if I found my card. I grumpily said no. Merile: "did you pray about it?"
Kelly: "Yes."
Merile:  "it will be found...it's here in the house somewhere."
Kelly:  "I doubt it. Some freak stole it...we should just order a new one."

I went to bed cross.

About 10 am this morning, Merile IM's me. "Honey, I found your debit card,  it was in the dryer."

I'm telling you, that debit card was not in the dryer last night.  There is no way. Three people looked in the dryer and the washer and went through every stitch of clothing inside and out.

So, I believe in miracles: it was probably nothing but HF's sheer mercy for me and Merile's prayers that the debit card ended up in the dryer. It certainly wasn't my prayers.  Added bonus: the darn debit card was washed and dried and STILL works.

I am a humble, grateful girl today.  :)

No comments:

Post a Comment